Neal Gabler states, "These shows are pure wish fulfillment.  They offer us friends and family at one's beck and call but without any of the hassles." Shows like Modern Family and The Big Bang Theory make it seem like their lives are perfect and they know everything about one another.  In reality we are lucky if we get to see our friends and family as much as the characters on the show.  The reason people enjoy such shows is because we wish our lives could be that simple and fun.
In Modern Family they are always at one another's homes or school functions, I'm lucky enough to live just around the corner from the majority of my family. The difference from my family to this T.V. family is even though I live so close to my family I rarely see them because we are all busy in our own lives.  I mainly see my family on holidays unlike in Modern Family where they have a family meal every night.  Although we wish that could happen and everyone to get along we know that is a far stretch from reality.
In The Big Bang Theory friends just walk in and out of each others houses, most times I would try to do that at a friends house the door would most likely be locked.  It's nice to imagine that in this fake world people are trusting to leave their houses unlocked for friends to enter and watch T.V.  I enjoy watching these shows because they have such over the top humor you know that this would never happen in real life.  



Leave a Reply.